Current Students



Members of our lab during the ASME 2013 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition.












PhD students:



Cristian Clavijo is originally from Peru.  He obtained a bachelor’s and master’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Utah, and is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering in the area of thermal fluids at BYU.  His doctoral experience encompasses theoretical and experimental research on droplet impingement on superhydrophobic surfaces.  He is particularly interested in the boiling hydrodynamics and thermal transport of single water droplet impingement on heated superhydrophobic surfaces at moderate and high Weber numbers.  He can be reached at






Adam Cowley is a bilingual (English/Spanish) native of California.  He obtained his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering at BYU and is currently a PhD candidate with an emphasis in thermal fluids.  He uses computational fluid dynamics (CFD) to quantify heat transfer in channel flow with superhydrophobic walls.  More recently, he has designed a mini-channel to obtain empirical data of water flow through a rectangular superhydrophobic channel with a high aspect ratio.





Allison Lee completed her undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering at BYU in August 2013 after having served a mission in Peru for her church for 18 months. Directly after graduation, she began her doctoral research with an emphasis in fluid mechanics. She is currently using experiments to investigate internal wave generation in evanescent regions, which has application to internal waves generated from ocean tides. She enjoys watching BYU football, mentoring undergraduate research assistants, and teaching others about the marvels of fluid mechanics. 






Ryan Lundgreen studies turbine performance using computational fluid dynamics (CFD).  He is in his last year of his PhD program in mechanical engineering at BYU, where he also received his undergraduate degree.  He studies cavitation formation on turbine blades and how to increase the efficiency of water pumps.






Matthew Searle completed his undergraduate degree at BYU, and is currently pursuing his PhD in mechanical engineering.  He has significant experimental experience with water boiling on superhydrophobic surfaces and photolithography, but has also participated in other projects during his graduate studies including droplet impingement heat transfer.  Recently, he has developed a theoretical model for water jet impingement on an isotropic superhydrophobic surface.






Kim Stevens is a PhD student studying two-phase flow in rectangular channels with superhydrophobic walls.  Exploration of two-phase flow is a preliminary step in understanding flow condensation on superhydrophobic surfaces, which has the potential to increase the efficiency.  She has an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from BYU, and is currently finishing her Master’s degree in bioengineering.  Her Master’s work involved experimental research in vocal folds, with extensive use of high speed cameras. 





Master students:


Jonathan Stoddard is a master student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  He obtained his bachelor’s degree also in mechanical engineering at BYU.  His research is mainly experimental and entails water jet impingement on isotropic and anisotropic superhydrophobic surfaces.






Philip Kinghorn completed his undergraduate degree in the Department of Mathematics at BYU-Hawaii.  He is currently pursuing a master’s degree in mechanical engineering at BYU.  For his research, he conducts wind-tunnel experiments to quantify the air drag over train carts for a wide range of realizable parameters.  He also has significant experience with air dynamics through vocal folds research.




Undergraduate students:

Mikkel Unrau

Evan Bee

David Ashworth


Lab Alumni:

Richard Perkins, MS 2014

Rob Condie, MS 2014

Joseph Prince, PhD 2013

Robb Hays, MS 2013

Michael Johnson, MS 2012

John Pearson, MS 2010

Brady Woolford, PhD 2009

Masood Amin, PhD 2011

Kevin Jeffs, MS 2007

Jason Davies, PhD 2006